January Joy?

January and I have never been the best of friends.

Or winter either, as it turns out.

I was grumpy when I read the other day that my home state of Minnesota has just won first prize for having the most miserable winters. http://minnesota.cbslocal.com/2017/01/04/uff-da-minnesota-ranks-no-1-on-most-miserable-winter-list/

But it wasn’t exactly a surprise and I didn’t need the reminder as I was about to start my third miserable commute of the week, and it was only Wednesday.

Once I arrived at the local skating rink called a freeway, I knew I needed to de-stress some.

I started by turning off Trump’s press conference on the radio in favor of classical music for a while.

Well, actually any music I could find.

I figured if I wanted to hear anger and frustration I could simply listen to the cranky drivers honking around me.

Still feeling restless an hour later, I thought I’d best compose a January mantra to chant during the rest of my prolonged commute:

“I’m thankful each night for those two frozen pumpkins glued next to my old storm door. These orange stoppers keep that door from blowing in the wind, allowing the dogs and me to snore away in heavenly peace.”

“I’m thankful for those dogs. They make for wonderful foot warmers at home and my pack takes their task seriously.”

“And I’m very thankful for my new calendar. It shows the month of January’s almost half over.”

I’m calling that progress.

That’s more than I can say for the roads, however.

Leave a Reply

