Ooh la la!

In my quest to learn more about aging with joy, I’ve been known to pick up a book or two.

Though never before from the children’s section.

Yet one morning a photo of a children’s bookshelf appeared in my newsfeed. It was taken at Battenkill Books in Cambridge, NY.

One sweet book cover immediately caught my eye because of the little white dog and older French woman shown running beneath the Eiffel Tower.

I picked up the phone and ordered a copy of the book, “Madame Martine” by Sarah S. Brannen.

With my own little white dog Rex on my lap this chilly morning, we read it cover to cover.

I was hooked as soon as I read the very first words in the jacket, “Sometimes it takes another pair of eyes to help you see things differently…”

“Thank you, Rex,” I whispered as I scratched my newly adopted boy’s hungry belly.

The book tells the tale of how the French woman was stuck into a rigid routine before meeting up with her new pup, Max.

But now with their partnership, “Every Saturday they tried something new.”

I looked down again at Rex. He looked up at me.

“Hey buddy, did you know it’s Saturday?” I asked. “How about a road trip?”

Perceiving a nod, we trotted off to the best French bakery in the city to share a buttery baguette.

I’ve been meaning to stop in the place for years.

“Ooh la la!” I barked as we pushed open the door, and I finally realized all that I ‘d been missing.

Leave a Reply

