Ode to Mama Maddie

I celebrate all rescue dogs.
And my sweet puppy mill mother.

Who often cared for litters that came.
One right after the other.

But now, retired, she cares for me.
With love still in her eyes.

Today, crawling to kiss my hand.
I thanked her for my surprise.

I learn from her most every day.
As did those pups she taught.

That simple gifts still are the best,
And can’t be easily bought.

I’m grinning now as I gaze at her, and see that winning smile.
Most everyday’s a special treat, I’m so blessed to have her for a while.

2 thoughts on “Ode to Mama Maddie

Leave a Reply

