Spring Chickens

Many days I don’t exactly feel like a spring chicken.

In fact, far from it.

I’m sure that sense of my own mortality tapping on the window came from Dad’s death from Alzheimer’s, Mom’s dementia diagnosis, and then my husband’s.

All 3 events ocurred within a 4 year time frame.

I often catch myself wondering if I’m destined to become yet another statistic.

But then I’ll hear a story of amazing grace while aging that gives me hope.

Just like I did earlier this morning.

There’s a vibrant woman in her 90s in Minnesota who is still teaching 5 year olds how to read, and enjoying every minute. It’s obviously keeping her young.http://minnesota.cbslocal.com/2016/03/09/excellent-educator-south-elementary-lucille-decker/

As I drove off today to my new job at an elementary school, I smiled knowing I’d soon be reading with five year olds as well.

Perhaps there really is a fountain of youth.

Or at least, it seems, I’ve finally found mine.

2 thoughts on “Spring Chickens

Leave a Reply

