Laughter: The best medicine

I still wonder what I’m doing with a year old pup.

Rex came home with me from the shelter right before Christmas.

I often worry if this handsome man will outlive me.

And then I worry if for some reason he won’t.

A clever one, Rex’s learned to recognize my approaching furrowed brow anytime anxiety prepares for landing.

He then takes over as co-pilot.

Rex suddenly will start to snort and laugh at himself.

And he won’t quit the game until I do the same.

I know now why I chose my special pup.

This handsome boy’s keeping this aging girl young.

And he’s doing the same in the process.

That’s exactly what my doctor ordered.

And oh, what a sweet prescription he is!

2 thoughts on “Laughter: The best medicine

Leave a Reply

