Handsome Man

“You need a handsome man.”

I wasn’t looking for any advice, but recently got some anyway from my five year old grandson.

My daughter Nicole and grandkids had stopped over for a pizza party.

Nicole shook her head commenting, “Where’d he ever pick up that line?”

I quickly turned the topic over to the Mickey Mouse holiday puzzle in front of us.

It will be two years next week since my husband Richard passed from early onset dementia and other health issues. He left the day after Christmas.

In terms of holidays, Christmas has never been my favorite. Thanksgiving’s always ranked number one on my list.

Maybe it’s because I prefer gratitude to the greed that often blooms in December.

Yet I knew Christmas had snuck in the door once I noticed the annual Lutefisk dinner ads posted in the bathroom stalls at the local Lutheran church.

Still no handsome man was going on my wish lists and most of my Christmas decorations were donated as part of my recent move to a smaller home.

With the move, I’m now living a mile from the hospital where my husband passed. And I need to drive by it every night to return home from work.

I’d recently found the gray December weather had made me blue, particularly when the annual holiday light display was turned on at the hospital.

But one night last week I noticed for the first time a shining star to the north while driving by.

It rested atop the hospital brick tower my where my husband spent his final days in hospice.

I smiled as I looked up.

And then I turned the radio over to the all Christmas music station.

As flurries began to fall, I continued driving north to pick up one potential gift I’d put on hold.

This one’s a gift for me.

And I know he will be for others through hospice work.

You see, I ended up taking my grandson’s advice after all.

I went and found myself a handsome man.

Very handsome indeed.

17 thoughts on “Handsome Man

  1. Oh, Jackie!! I was reading with years in my eyes and then I saw the handsome man and laughed out loud!
    You are so wonderful and beautiful and kind! I think you two will make a perfect couple!!! ❤️

  2. O Jackie, my heart runneth over! You have the best posts and I so look forward to them. Thank you for sharing your life with us. A very Merry to you!
    PS name?

  3. Time do pass quickly. Two years already. Your new “boyfriend” seem to be a gentle gentleman. With those eyes he will convince you more than once to follow in his footsteps.

  4. Pingback: Love Connection/Life Connection | Quilt of Missing Memories

  5. Pingback: Canine caregivers | Quilt of Missing Memories

Leave a Reply

