Who you calling ‘old girl’?

image

I may be old,
but I still have two feet.

I can dig a big hole,
I can make it real deep.

Then I’ll rest those back legs,
and cool down from the heat.

Sure, I’ll make a big mess,
but Mom knows I’m not neat.

I can’t run up my hill,
but I’ve still found my bliss.

There’s just nothing like shade,
and with mud you can’t miss.

Am I still just a kid,
as I’m so young at heart?

There are some who call me ‘senior’.
but my Mom says, “You’re just smart.”

There’s a lesson for us all.
Some days we dig to find our joy.

Though with open eyes, and fresh dirt smells,
we’ll surely find the right toy.

2 thoughts on “Who you calling ‘old girl’?

Leave a Reply

