Serious attitude


Maybe it’s because I’m getting older, but I want some serious attitude. I want to be like the pig here, nostrils up in the air, catching a breeze, pushing the others aside for the first mud bath.

I don’t just want to be what they call ‘Minnesota nice’ anymore. (Though I told someone yesterday, Minnesota drivers aren’t very nice at all).

I’m so lacking in attitude I’ve never even sent food back to a restaurant kitchen, but had plenty of opportunities. Instead I’ll come down with food poisoning, and take it in the gut like a wimp. Finally playing the fool in the bathroom, sick for days.

If I had attitude I’d be first in line for the hottest tech toy at the annual After Thanksgiving Sale. And I’d have kept my daughter more in line as a teenager.

If I had attitude I’d be a better advocate for my husband’s health care needs. I’d even be a better advocate for me.

But I’ve been told the only good thing about my advocacy skills is believability. I don’t want to be believable. I want to be demanding, outrageous, and screaming attitude at the top of my lungs.

I do wonder though if this may be too much of a stretch for an old girl like me. I need to be realistic. Maybe I’ll just put ‘become a strong woman’ on my development plan for the rest of this year. I suppose it’s always good to keep friends and not annoy co-workers. I’ll see how it goes.

Then maybe next year?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.